1912 Evening Dress – Complete! (Almost!)

Well, I don’t get any gold stars for blogging my sewing progress, now do I?

Let’s see…where we last left off, I was testing two different olive greens for the dress.  I settled on one that I preferred over the other, but unfortunately my vendor did not have enough of the fabric for me to continue with that color combination!  Sadness!  So after all that olive green hemming and hawing, I needed to make a decision, pronto, on the color of the dress.  I went with a cheerful buttery yellow, which I seem to recall was mentioned in the Vogue archives as being quite “in” that season…wish I had kept better track of my research!

Anyway, the black chiffon overtunic was embroidered around the edges in beads and sequins in a half-rosette pattern.  It’s my hope to continue filling in the skirt with more design, perhaps by Costume College in August it will get done.  I finished off the look with a vintage necklace and vintage shoes, both from Etsy, and the butterfly was a modern Conair hair barette from the drugstore that was MacGyver-ed onto a comb. The Epic Titanic Dinner I attended was an extraordinarily fun time, and here are the results of my hard work:

 

I may have accidentally forgotten to take photos of the back (the party was too much fun!) but more photo opps will present themselves as I wear this dress again.

This entry was posted in 1912 Evening Dress. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 1912 Evening Dress – Complete! (Almost!)

  1. I feel like Valentino is one of those designers that none can compete with, and I think the virtual museum concept is innovative. It’s a little cliche, but offers an extensive look into the company’s process and history, which is huge for the luxury industry. Do I think the elite upper east sides who can afford the designer will download this? No, but I think it’s probably quite popular in the European market.

    • jubilima says:

      I think it’s popular with several markets, including historians, archivists, and others who study–for lack of a better word–the statistics of fashion. To see how Valentino influenced or was influenced by other designers helps gauge a greater understanding of his place in the industry. I also think this would be popular with celebrity stylists. We often see vintage couture on the runways–where better to source some looks? I can also see this as being a useful tool for the film and TV industry–a period piece could find great value in finding specific Valentino looks straight from the source!

  2. valarielynn says:

    I saw your pretty dress in all the photos that were shared on LJ. It doesn’t matter what era, you always look like you belong there.
    See you at CoCo!
    Val

  3. Pingback: 1912 evening dress closures and construction details « WearWhenWhy

  4. mademoiselleretro says:

    Cette robe est magnifique !

Leave a Reply

