Marc Jacobs in the 18th century

I love to incorporate bits of historical clothing and accessories into my everyday wear, but it’s not often that I get to bring contemporary designers back in time.  

I recently ordered a few yards of this fabric, which reminds me of 18th century block-printed cotton:

Image

Image

I have a terrible time finding good 18th century prints, so when I saw this, I had to snatch some up.  Sure, the print I bought isn’t exactly a reproduction, but it’s close enough that it feels right to me.  At first I was a little unsure of the colorway, but I emailed the fine folks at Duran Textiles, who assured me that while black-on-white prints were unusual, they did indeed exist.  Also, some of the brown tones we see on extant textiles may have been black at one point, but the vegetable dyes faded over time.  They themselves have some beautiful black-on-white cotton prints:

Image

Duran Textiles “Veronica”

Image

Duran Textiles “Shell”

Image

Duran Textiles “Tagetes”

Also, I gotta admit…I’m a sucker for Marc by Marc Jacobs, and this is most definitely MBMJ.  Here is the fabric in action in his Spring 2006 RTW collection:

Image

Image

And the real kicker?  At $4/yard, the price can’t be beat.  I’m thinking of ordering more to stash away, because it would make for some cute pockets and bumrolls and pocket hoops…”designer” accessories, per se!  

Want your own MBMJ 18th century wardrobe?  Head over to FabricMart!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Marc Jacobs in the 18th century

  1. Aubry says:

    Great find! I love FabricMart. That have such a neat mix. I just placed an order with them today! 🙂

  2. Bunny says:

    Ruh oh! I have not discovered FabriMart until now….
    Woot 18th C!

  3. Julia B. says:

    Wow! I’d never heard of that place, but that’s a great fabric! I must have some! 😉 An 18th century jacket, perhaps?

  4. Caroline says:

    I recently bought the same printed fabric. I thought it looked delightfully 18th century, too! I’m so glad to see it looked the same to others. I had no idea Marc Jacobs used it too. How funny!

    Caroline
    Dressedintime.blogspot.com

    • wearwhenwhy says:

      Hi Caroline, it’s nice to meet a new blogger! I’m excited to see all the different things everybody will come up with from the same fabric. Designer 18th century duds, all the way!

Leave a Reply

