A new 1920s dress

One of my favorite summertime traditions is attending the Jazz Age Lawn Party on Governor’s Island–which means lots of pretty 1920s and 1930s dresses!

This time around, I made a little number based off of this extant garment featured in Women’s Wear of the 1920s:

I made my version in white and sea foam-green linen; of course, as I am dually inspired by fashions of the present as well as the past, I chose those colors based on an archived 1927 Vogue article referencing white-and-light green dresses at the House of Premet, as well as this Refinery 29 editorial on mint green for Spring 2012.  Also, the scarf on the original (which I omitted) was white with seafoam green polka dots.

Saddle-style shoes by Chelsea Crew, a floppy hat from Laila Rowe, and wrist gloves and a vintage purse completed the look.

We had a fantastic time and the party gets better and better every year.  Bill Cunningham was there and snapped our photo (fingers crossed we make it to the final cut!).  The music, as always, was exceptionally good, and the New York Times covered Michael Arenella, the host of the event, in an insightful piece.  It must be wonderful to truly live your passion the way he does!

This entry was posted in 1920s and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to A new 1920s dress

  1. Aubry says:

    That is absolutely adorable!

  2. Kendra says:

    Super cute! When I first saw the colors (on the dress form) I was thinking “Hmm, that’s SO light, will it read?” And then I saw it on you, and it looks fabulous!! Yay!

  3. Katherine says:

    So adorable! The designs are so much prettier in real life than in print.

  4. Amanda says:

    Very cute! Love the colors, so happy and summery!

  5. valarielynn says:

    Beautiful details on it, and you did it so well! Very cute dress!
    Val

  6. KW says:

    Well, don’t you look as fresh as a mint julep! 🙂

  7. Your dress is adorable! You mentioned it was based on a dress featured in womens wear of the 1920’s is this the book by Ruth S. Countryman? I’m thinking about buying the book, does it have plenty of patterns in?

    • J. Leia Lima says:

      Aw, thanks! Yes, that’s the book, and I do recommend it, as it does contain several diagrams. I also made a bathing costume from it, although I haven’t yet blogged it.

Leave a Reply

