Costumers Then and Now

When I first discovered historical costuming and its small online community, I had two goals: to be on the Featured Attyre (R.I.P.) section of Jen Thompson’s Festive Attyre, and on the Italian Showcase at Bella’s Realm of Venus.  These were two avenues that would allow me to introduce myself to others who shared my interest in historical costumes.

I knew I wasn’t tech-savvy or brave enough to start blogging back then (it took me all the way to 2012 to start doing that!), but I wanted very much to be a part of the costuming community.  So for Jen, I submitted the very first costume made by me from start to finish, this lovely polyester number based off of the Simplicity Shakespeare in Love pattern:

And for Bella, I created a gown specifically for entry into the Showcase based on Bronzino’s Girl With a Prayer Book.

I can’t tell you how happy I was to featured on their websites.  They were (and still are!) such big players in this community.  Nowadays, there are so very many wonderful and talented costumers out there, with and without blogs, and I am so lucky to have formed deep friendships with many of them over the last eight years.  As a token of my respect for their work, I started a Pinterest board called Costumers I Admire.  This project is ongoing, certainly nowhere near exhaustive as of this point, and will keep growing as long as I see lovely costumes online!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Costumers Then and Now

  1. Trystan says:

    Holy moly! Your ‘first costumes’ are fantastic! They blow me away!

  2. jen thompson says:

    Aww… thank-you for such a nice post! And I am so happy that those first steps into the world of online costuming lead to us becoming friends! I remember seeing your first costumes and thinking “OMG who is this girl? She totally rocks!” I was SO right about that one! 🙂

    • J. Leia Lima says:

      I am still your fangirl, but I am SO HAPPY to count you as a friend! Thanks to YOU for hosting Featured Attyre and allowing newbie costumers like me to introduce ourselves to the world. It’s a very unselfish thing, to share your platform like that. 🙂

  3. Merja says:

    Both of the dresses are stunning! Wow, your first, amazing!

  4. Fitchwitch says:

    What she is too modest to tell you is that she won the 2005 Golden Rose award in the Italian Showcase with her Bronzino dress!

Leave a Reply

